Winners announced at London Pub Theatre Awards 2020

THE LONDON PUB THEATRE OF THE YEAR AWARDS and the STANDING OVATION AWARDS were held on 18 October 2020.  Despite so many pub theatres remaining closed the Award Panel decided to go ahead with the Awards because it is such a life affirming thing to do.

Designed to recognise and celebrate the achievements of London Pub Theatres, over seventy guests were present at the online ceremony.  Twenty pub theatres were in the running for the major title of LONDON PUB THEATRE OF THE YEAR 2020, along with three other awards.

Run by London Pub Theatres Magazine, the event also included the inaugural STANDING OVATION AWARDS for the productions.  Nominations for these awads date back to April 2019, covering a full year.

The Awards winners are below:

LONDON PUB THEATRE OF THE YEAR 2020 is awarded to Neil McPherson (Artistic Director) FINBOROUGH THEATRE

LONDON PUB THEATRE OF THE YEAR 2020 RUNNERS-UP is awarded to Michael Kingsbury (Artistic Director) WHITE BEAR THEATRE

LONDON PUB THEATRES LIFE-TIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD goes to John and Katie Plews (Artistic director and Producer) at Upstairs at the Gatehouse

COMMENDATION FOR SERVICES TO PUB THEATRES Tessa Hart (Joint Found and Executive Director), Rebecca Pryle (Founder and Executive Manager) and Velenzia Spearpoint (Artistic Director) at Bread and Roses Theatre



THE BEVIN BOYS by Viv Edwards, starring Tom Taplin and David Angland at Pentameters Theatre, Hampstead


CALL ME FURY by Sasha Wilson (further devised by the company), Produced by Out of The Forest Theatre at The Hope Theatre


HAPPILY EVER POOFTER Created and performed by Rich Watkins, directed by Denholm Spurr at King’s Head Theatre


Joint winners –

TRYST by Karoline Leach, in house production at Chiswick Playhouse

THE HOUSE OF YES by Wendy MacLeod, directed by Matthew Parker at The Hope Theatre


THE VIOLENCE SERIES TRIPLE BILL by The Other Room Theatre in Cardiff at Theatre503

3 plays – AMERICAN NIGHTMARE by Matthew Bulgo, directed by Sara Lloyd

THE STORY by Tess Berry-Hart, directed by David Mercatali

HELA by Mari Izzard, directed by Dan Jones


THE WIND OF HEAVEN (Emlyn Williams) directed by Will Maynard at Finborough Theatre


CHAPLIN BIRTH OF A TRAMP by Ross McGregor, Arrows and Traps Theatre at Brockley Jack Theatre

 The Awards Team

The Awards team is headed by actor of stage and screen Richard Braine.  Other members of the Panel include Award winning playwright David Weir, Editor of London Pub Theatres Magazine Heather Jeffery, Playwright Sian Rowland and Fleet Street journalist/playwright Kate Pettigrew.

Editor of London Pub Theatres Magazine, Heather Jeffery said:

So very proud of pub theatres.  Some have already reopened, many have continued with their creativity reaching out to audiences and to theatre makers.  Many have succeeded in their funding bids, but many are still fund raising to survive.  We decided these Awards must go ahead to recognise the wonderful achievements of pub theatres and the excellence of the shows that they programme.”